Adding an image(s) to the iPhone Simulator

I managed to finally get an image to into my iPhone Simulator, running into a problem now, I can’t find the image to delete it or change.

Anyway once you if you know the device that is running (if not you can find out the GUID here:  https://qatesttech.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/determining-which-device-is-running-in-the-iphone-simulator/)

These steps then worked for adding images:

How to bulk upload images on the iOS Simulator. (I’ve only confirmed it on 6.1.)

  1. Backup the device folder:
    1. ~/Library/Application Support/iPhone Simulator/6.1/Media
  2. Copy all your images into the folder:
    1. ~/Library/Application Support/iPhone Simulator/6.1/Media/DCIM/100APPLE
  3. Move or delete the folder:
    1. ~/Library/Application Support/iPhone Simulator/6.1/Media/PhotoData
  4. Restart iOS Simulator
  5. Open the Photos app

The simulator will restore all the images from the 100APPLE folder! – yours will be there too 

Notes:
  1. My Devices aren’t in this location, they are under ~/Library/Developer….
  2. I didn’t do step 1, since launching the Simulator copies missing stuff back
Now I have the problem that even though my image doesn’t appear in the 100APPLE directory, it still shows up when the simulator runs, though if I run the simulator manually, that image isn’t there.
Update 1:
  • This isn’t a solution for me (but might be for some folks:
    • As of iOS 8, you can just drag all your photos onto the simulator window and they’ll save to camera roll automatically. You can do as many at a time as you want.
Update 2:
So I copy the photo to 100APPLE, like mentioned above.  Now the photo seems to be there forever.  Even if I remove everything, the default stuff shows up, but when the simulator is run (invoked using Appium) the photos I previously manually added, reappear inside the phone Simulator.  If I launch the phone Simulator manually the photos aren’t there, so there is an Appium factor that I am unware of/not sure how it works.  Found out the image copy issue, it is all on me, not knowing all the parts of the interconnected system I inherited – education is good 🙂
 Update 3:
A bit clunky, but command line nuking the image files in a folder while the iPhone Simulator is running
find ~/Path to Devices/(GUID of Device)/data/Media/DCIM/100APPLE/ -iname “*.jpg” -delete
Example:
find ~/Library/Developer/CoreSimulator/Devices/6A0CB955-C22B-48A6-A7F5-809806EB57F2/data/Media/DCIM/100APPLE/ -iname “*.jpg” -delete

Leave a comment